EFFA President and Secretary attend Dnata City opening

  • Khalid Munir of Qatar Airways, Pauline Birdsall and Niek Van Der Weide with the plaque.

EFFA President Barry Birdsall and Secretary Pauline Birdsall attended a luncheon on 28th April 2014 to celebrate the opening of the new Dnata handling operation for Qatar Airways at Heathrow.

They enjoyed a full guided tour of the operational facility, as well as the offices and impressive on-site gym. EFFA’s representatives also enjoyed a ride on the newly built Elevating Transfer Vehicle or ‘ETV’, servicing the pallet area.

‘The technology is fantastic,’ said EFFA Secretary Pauline Birdsall. ‘The design of the site incorporates green technology such as water cells under the building to help alleviate flooding and the recycling of buildings previously on the site. There are also very practical operational initiatives such as gateway vehicle recognition and the use of SMS to provide drivers with door numbers, so improving the reception experience and reduce delivery times. ‘
‘This system now allows drivers to efficiently check in for multiple drops to various airlines within the Dnata City facility, without leaving their vehicle upon arrival. This should really add up to a better future for cargo agents by improving safety and reducing waiting times.’

Dnata City now covers the following airlines at Heathrow: Qantas Airways, Air New Zealand, Philippine Airlines, Ethiopian Airlines, Brussels Airlines, Biman Bangladesh Airlines, Iran Air, Qatar Airways (Effective from the 07th May, Emirates  (Effective from the 01st Jun) and Eva Air (TBA)

‘Being able to pre-book in to so many airlines at once will make EFFA’s UK agent Key Air and Sea Ltd much more efficient going forward’ said Barry Birdsall.

The event was also attended by Gary Morgan, CEO of Dnata’s UK operation and Niek Van Der Weide, Vice-President of cargo at Qatar Airways, who unveiled a plaque marking the occasion.

Photo shows (L-R) Khalid Munir of Qatar Airways, Pauline Birdsall and Niek Van Der Weide with the commemorative plaque.